top of page
Search
  • keneddyr

AFIB

Afib returned about 6 weeks ago. With the pacemaker and not wearing the Apple Watch I missed it. The doctors office called and a appointment was scheduled. During the appointment they confirmed AFIB and a cardioversion was scheduled for 5/30 with a follow up on 6/21.


Cardioversion got the desired effect, but it only lasted for about a week. I had been checking the heart with the ECG function. Pretty much for 6 days the rhythm appeared normal. Starting on the 7th day around 1500 I started getting inconsistent results from the ECG and the display looked off. The QRS portion is missing. I thought initially it had flipped, but upon closer inspection it’s shortened.


I tried to get the appointment moved up with little success. I call at 1500 each day and bug them.


So what are the next steps he’ll propose. I’ve noticed while walking or working in the yard my rate is slightly elevated and I’m on the verge of feeling short of breath. Next steps:

  1. Do nothing.

  2. Further testing.

  3. Antiarrithmics.

  4. Ablation.

  5. Tweak pacemaker.

If any of the last four are done that complicates the trek to Maine. I may be able to defer 2-5 until the fall.


A lot of the reading I’ve done suggest that since I’m “elderly” and the rate is controlled they may forego dealing with the rhythm.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Weak back - UPDATE

Can’t do much. As long as I move slowly the discomfort is tolerable. Still periods of pain and discomfort. Getting into and out of the...

New Cable Modem

I've opted not to embrace Glow Fiber. So, I decided to get a new cable modem to replace the slower and unsupported on that I've had for...

Weak back follow-up

Broke down and went to Ortho On Call on Tuesday (9/10). They did x-rays and they didn't suspect any disc issues but feel that I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page