top of page
Search
  • keneddyr

Doctor’s appointment (or disappointment) today

Update: 1330 - still in Afib.


The short term plan is a beta blocker to get me through the summer.  He strongly suggested, no marathons, triathlons or climbing Mount Katadin. 


When I return we’ll take a checkpoint in late September.  At that point he’ll probably suggest another ablation.  As we spent sometime going over that as an option.  If I wasn’t going to Maine he probably would have scheduled it 2/3 weeks out than another 2/3 weeks for a follow up. 


Morning update - Assuming he’s on time I should have a sense for what’s in store for correcting the afib by about 13:30 today.

He could choose or suggest:

  1. Do nothing - I want it fixed. There seems to be a position that as long as the rates controlled don’t worry about the rhythm in the elderly. Leaving it uncorrected can lead to stroke potential, heart failure and dementia. Oh effin joy.

  2. Medication - may work. May need a normal rhythm to start off.

  3. Ablation - number 5, 6, or 7. I’ve lost count.

If nothing changes the pacemaker will fail sooner, because it needs to fire to both leads.


I WANT IT FIXED


As to when. I’d prefer asap, but I feel the need to get up to Maine although that is a ying and yang type of event. Don’t mind relaxing at the beach or in my recliner, it’s just everything else that triggers anxiety and feeling of being used.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Weak back - UPDATE

Can’t do much. As long as I move slowly the discomfort is tolerable. Still periods of pain and discomfort. Getting into and out of the...

New Cable Modem

I've opted not to embrace Glow Fiber. So, I decided to get a new cable modem to replace the slower and unsupported on that I've had for...

Weak back follow-up

Broke down and went to Ortho On Call on Tuesday (9/10). They did x-rays and they didn't suspect any disc issues but feel that I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page