top of page
Search
  • keneddyr

Weight Loss Journey

I've done this so many times. Typically, these journeys last from 2 to 3 months up to 14 months. The amount lost is directly related to how hard I work the program, how hard I curb my caloric intake, how hard I work out and how hard I involve myself in in bike riding, tennis or yardwork.


Generally, I do a good job of planning a strategy and executing, but there are always these things which crop up which sabotage the process. In the past the following things have caused me to have a setback.

  • Achilles heel event - 14 months to diagnose requiring multiple cycles of walking casts and PT. Then finally the surgery was performed to clean up all the scar tissue. Followed by a real cast, then a walking cast and PT. Lost about 2 years. At the start I was at 177 from 266 and was on my way to 165. Gained about 40 pounds back as a result of the forced inactivity. I should have been more focused on my calory intake while inactive.

  • Knee replacement - 12 months from the day of surgery until I could resume tennis play. I walked a lot but couldn't ride my bike until 9 months into the recovery. My knee wouldn't bend enough.

  • Covid - 24 months. During that time, I sat on my butt and did very little.

  • Afib/Pacemaker - during the vaccination p. This resulted in a cardioversion, a TEE and an ablation. My resting heart rate dropped into the mid 30s and I felt like crap. Finally, it was decided that a pacemaker would be placed. It took about 6 months to work through the recovery and some tweaking of settings. I think the pacemaker messed with my mind the most. Reminding me of my age. Also, put a little fear in the back on my mind.

  • Strained knee ligaments - 4 months. This past March (2023) I resumed play and immediately ended up stretching ligaments in my replaced knee joint.

  • Shoulder issue - 2 months. In July after resuming tennis play I caused bursitis to flare up in my right shoulder.

When we returned from Maine, I resumed playing tennis. I was fat, slow and as a result had a crappy attitude. I stopped play complete and only have agreed to fill in when they need an emergency sub. I think that playing with my weight above 225 has the potential for triggering another orthopedic event. So until I get below 225 the only tennis play will be using my tennis ball machine.


The event that finally pushed me out of the recliner was my recent 6-month pacemaker checkpoint on 11/02. During the check-in process they weigh you, take your bp, do an EKG and review any changes or issues. I get on the scale and normally I take wallet, keys, phone and remove my shoes. The numbers keep getting higher and finally stop at 254. I personally think their scale is off because upon my return home I jumped on the scale and was 249 on one and 248.7 on the other. Everything was the same.


On 11/03 I dusted off all my exercise plans and came up with a plan. Each day I do the following:

  • Get on the recumbent bike. On day one it was 5 minutes at level 1. Each day I add a minute. When I get to 15 minutes I'll go to the next level and start at 5 minutes. When I get to level 5 at 15 minutes I will remain at that level.

  • Royal Canadian Exercises - this is a system my grandfather made me do from the age of 10 until 17. AT the level I'm at it essentially is stretching.

  • I alternate between dumb bells and bands to do some toning. When I change bike levels I will add sets until I'm doing three sets.

I've been able to complete my daily exercise goals for 8 days now. Eventually I may "double" up by returning to the gym.


My goal is to lose 1.5 pounds each week. That should result in my hitting my goal weight next November. In past "journeys" I mostly exceed that rate, but I'm going to try and not shock the system like I have in the past and rigorously monitor calories in and calories out so things are about equal each day.


My initial weigh in was 248 and Ihit 242.3 today (11/11) so it was 5.7 pounds for the week. A bit fast out of the gate, but from past experience the first week is always pretty good. I'm hoping to avoid those plateaus.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Weak back - UPDATE

Can’t do much. As long as I move slowly the discomfort is tolerable. Still periods of pain and discomfort. Getting into and out of the...

New Cable Modem

I've opted not to embrace Glow Fiber. So, I decided to get a new cable modem to replace the slower and unsupported on that I've had for...

Weak back follow-up

Broke down and went to Ortho On Call on Tuesday (9/10). They did x-rays and they didn't suspect any disc issues but feel that I...

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page