top of page
Search
  • keneddyr

Where the weight loss inconsistencies may be

I've been bouncing around the same weight for 10 days now. Some days I'm up others I'm down. There are a number of variables to consider:

  • Scale - Depending on where I place the scale, I can get a 2-to-3-pound swing. Over the past 4/5 days I've been moving the scale around a bit until I get the lowest weight. This may be a wrong approach, but it's consistent!

  • Water intake and retention - I just don't know if I'm retaining water. My ankles aren't swollen so this may be negligible.

  • Volume of waste in digestive tract - I like to think that this is relatively constant, and at best maybe some of my weight variances may be attributed to this variable!

  • Exercise tracking and metabolism - Although I've exercised some, it's been inconsistent at best. So metabolism may be lower than expected. Muscle mass is down so I'm not getting and benefit in that area.

  • Calorie tracking - Ths may be the crux of the problem. I may be estimating my intake lower than it actually is. Without a scale to measure compounded by eating out this may be the largest contributor to these variances.


BMR is a constant value related to age and weight. As your age increases your BMR gets slightly smaller. As your weight decreases your BMR gets smaller. BMR simply stated is the amount of calories burned when resting through basic life-sustaining functions like breathing, circulation, nutrient processing, and cell production. So doing nothing but lying there you burn at a stated rate. So, if the BMR value I'm using is a bit high for any number of reasons my weight loss would be constant, but wrong. The variability has to be in the scale. A 2 pound weight gain or loss in a day would have to be a net change of 7200 calories. I think that I'm back to either waste in the digestive tract, water retention and scale placement.


Reviewing BMR there are 5 multipliers one must consider. Your activity level increases your BMR. So a BMR of 1981 essentially becomes 2675 at my age. So If I eat 2675 calories and lightly active I should maintain weight. I'm eating less than that on average so the weight should be constantly dropping. That makes me think that my calory intake tracking has to be off.

I HAVE TO DO A MORE PRECISE JOB OF LOGGING CALORIES AND WATCH PORTION CONTROL


So the action plan going forward:

  • Exercise

    • Daily Royal Canadian

    • Daily Chair Yoga

    • Daily Dumbbells

    • Daily Walking, Biking or Tennis

  • Consistent water intake or 64 ounces

  • Consistent tracking of input calories

date3

bmrsedentary

bmrlite

bmrmoderate

bmrveryactive

bmrextraactive

11/02/23

1.2

1.375

1.55

1.725

1.9

11/03/23

2,335.35

2,675.92

3,016.49

3,357.06

3,697.63


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Weak back - UPDATE

Can’t do much. As long as I move slowly the discomfort is tolerable. Still periods of pain and discomfort. Getting into and out of the...

New Cable Modem

I've opted not to embrace Glow Fiber. So, I decided to get a new cable modem to replace the slower and unsupported on that I've had for...

Weak back follow-up

Broke down and went to Ortho On Call on Tuesday (9/10). They did x-rays and they didn't suspect any disc issues but feel that I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page